24/08/2020

“Well , this rumble in the operating room , ‘ this unspeakable occurence ‘  as the Super called it you might say was the blow off . The wolf pack was closing for the kill . A crucifixion , that’s the only word for it. Of course I’d made a few ‘ dumheits ‘ here and there. Who hasn’t ? There was the time me and the anesthetic drank up all the either and the patient came up on us, and I was accused of cutting the cocaine with Saniflush . Violet did it actually . Had to protect her of course . . .                                                                        ” So the wind-up is we are all drummed out of the industry . Not that Violet was a bona fide croaker , neither was Broadbeck for that matter , and even in my own certificate was called in question . But Violet knew more medicine than the Mayo Clinic. She had an extraordinary intuition and a high sense of duty .                                                                     “So there I was flat on my ass with no certificate . Shoul I turn to another trade ? No, Doctoring was in my blood . I managed to keep up my habits performing cutrate abortions in subway toilets . I even descended to hustling pregnant women in the public streets . It was positively unhetical . Then I met a great guy . Placenta Juan the After Birth Tycoon . Made his in slunks during the war . ( Slunks are underage calves trailing afterbirths and bacteria ,generally in an unsanitary and unfit condition . A calf may not be sold as food until it reaches a minimum age of six weeks. Prior to that time it is classified as a slunk. Slunk trafficking is subject to a heavy penalty.) Well, Juanito controlled a fleet of cargo boats he register under the Abyssinian flag to avoid bothersome restrictions. He gives me a job as ship’s doctor on the S.S. Filiarisis, as filthy a craft as ever sailed