27/02/2021

ing for him only with reference to his need. Then he makes his abrupt intrusion into the time of others, and, like all Outsiders, all Petioners, he must wait, unless he happens to mesh with non-junk time.
“What can I say to him? He knows I’ll wait,” Nick laughed.
I spent the night in the Ever Hard Baths-(homosexuality is the best all-around cover story an agent can use)-where a snarling Italian attendant creates such an unnerving atmosphere sweeping the dormitory with infra red see in the dark fieldglasses.
(“All right in the North East corner! I see you!” switching on floodlights,sticking his head through trappedoors in the floor and wall of the private rooms, tah mant a queen has been carried out in a straitjacket. . .)
I lay there in my open top cubicle room looking at the ceiling . . . listened to the grunts and squeals and snarls in the nightmare halflight of random, broken \ lust.. . .
“Fuck off you!” ‘
“Put on two pairs of glasses and maybe you can see * something!”
Walked out in the precise morning and bought a paper. . . . Nothing. . . . I called from a drugstore ; phone booth . . . and asked for Narcotics:
“Lieutenant Gonzales . . . who’s calling?”
“I want to speak to O’Brien.” A moment of static, dangling wires, broken connections . . . “Nobody of that name in this department. . . . Who are you?”
“Well let me speak to Hauser.”